About Us


Vision:  The greatest spirits are universally recognized as coming from our member producers, and they are enjoyed responsibly everywhere in the world.

Mission:  To elevate and advocate for the community of craft spirits producers.

Who We Are: The American Craft Spirits Association is a registered non-profit trade group representing the U.S. craft spirits industry.  Members vote for the fifteen democratically elected representatives who make up the Board of Directors, and this Board collectively works to govern the ACSA in a transparent, responsive manner and in accordance with our bylaws.   Download Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws

Member Owned: Membership in ACSA is open to anyone, although voting members must be independent licensed distillers with a valid DSP, subscribe to ACSAs Code of Ethics, have more than a 75% equity stake and/or operational control of the DSP, and annually produce fewer than 750,000 proof gallons removed from bond (the amount on which excise taxes are paid). In case terms, 750,000 proof gallons is 315,451 9-liter cases (12 750 ml bottles) of 100 proof spirit. Proof Gallons to Cases Worksheet 

We strive to create a welcoming and professional atmosphere during each of our programs.  For that reason, the ACSA Board of Directors adopted a Code of Conduct. Download ACSA Code of Conduct 2016


Carason Lehmann

Executive Assistant

Margie A.S. Lehrman

Executive Director

Teresa McDaniel

Operations Administrator

Kirstin Webster

Education Coordinator

Board Of Directors 2017-2018


Mark Shilling, Treaty Oak Brewing and Distilling Co. (TX)

Vice President

P.T. Wood, Wood’s High Mountain Distillery (CO)


Thomas Jensen, New Liberty Distillery (PA)


Maggie Campbell

Privateer Rum (MA)

James Montero

Dogfish Head Distilling*(DE)

Steve Johnson

Ex Officio

Paul Hletko

Ex Officio


Dan Garrison

Garrison Brothers Distillery (TX)

Colin Keegan

Santa Fe Spirits* (NM)

Courtney McKee

Headframe Spirits* (MT)

Chris Montana

Du Nord Craft Spirits* (MN)

Mike Blaum

Blaum Brothers Distilling Company (IL)


Dan Farber

Osocalis Distillery (CA)

Jake Holshue

Rogue Spirits *(OR)

John Jeffery

Bently Heritage (NV)

Orlin Sorensen

Woodinville Whiskey Co. (WA)

Matt Hofmann

Ex Officio


Strategic Communications: Alexandra S. Clough, GATHER PR
Historian: Pennfield “Penn” Jensen, Founding Executive Director, 2013 – 2015
Legal: Ryan Malkin, Malkin Law, PA 

Committees Chair(s)


Finance: Thomas Jensen, New Liberty Distillery • Steve Johnson, Vermont Spirits
Ethics: Thomas Jensen, New Liberty Distillery
Elections: Robin McDougall, Lake George Distilling Company
Legislative Affairs: Mark Shilling, Treaty Oak Brewing and Distilling Co. • Nicole Austin, Kings County Distillery
Membership: Mike Blaum, Blaum Brothers Distilling Company
State Guilds: P.T. Wood, Wood’s High Mountain Distillery
Judging: Maggie Campbell, Privateer Rum
Education: Courtney McKee, Headframe Spirits • Jake Holshue, Rogue Ale & Spirits
Convention: James Montero, Dogfish Head Distilling
Technology: Mike Blaum, Blaum Brothers Distilling Company • Chip Tate, Chip Tate Craft Copperworks
Development: Tom Mooney, House Spirits • Orlin Sorensen, Woodinville Whiskey Co.