Elections 2017



WASHINGTON, DC (April 4, 2017) – The American Craft Spirits Association (ACSA) today announces the appointment of Mark Shilling, Co-Founder of Revolution Spirits Distilling Co. in Austin, TX, as the President of the Board of Directors, replacing Paul Hletko, who served as the organization’s president since April 2016. Together, Shilling, who has served as a key member of ACSA’s Board of Directors over the last year, and the newly-elected and re-elected Board of Directors will work with Executive Director Margie A.S. Lehrman to address the key issues facing the craft distilling industry.

In addition to Shilling’s appointment as President, P.T. Wood, of Wood’s High Mountain Distillery  (CO), a returning board member, will serve as Vice President, ACSA.  Tom Jensen of New Liberty Distillery (PA), another veteran board member with extensive beverage industry experience, will serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

“Mark Shilling is an exceptionally engaging person, and it has been an honor to work with him on the ACSA board,” said Paul Hletko, who will help transition Shilling as he takes on this new role.  “I am excited to work to support Mark and the work he will do to support the entire ACSA.  As the only trade association for distillers, by distillers, and the only member-led group in the business, we at the ACSA work to better each other.  Mark will do a fantastic job of helping elevate craft spirits, and advocate for us.”

“I am humbled by and excited for the opportunity to serve our members at ACSA, and I’d like to thank Paul and our retiring board members for their mentorship, support and their tireless efforts and huge accomplishments in setting us on the path to continued success, added Mark. “There are big shoes to fill this year as many of ACSA’s founding members leave our Board of Directors, having completed full terms.  These industry leaders have the set the bar high with their clear vision and goal-oriented leadership, and I look forward to following their legacy as we lead ACSA into this new chapter.  As the industry continues to grow at a record pace, I am excited to work with the tremendously talented team at ACSA as we continue the excellent work already in progress to elevate and advocate for our craft distilling community.”

The Board of Directors will also be appointing ex officio members and leadership to its governing committees within the next few weeks.  Those committees include Membership, Ethics, Convention, Education, Judging, Legislative Affairs, State Guilds, Technology, and Development.

The 2017 Board of Directors is comprised of the following individuals:


Maggie Campbell, Privateer Rum (MA)

Thomas Jensen, New Liberty Distillery (PA)

James Montero, Dogfish Head Distilling*(DE)


Mike Blaum, Blaum Brothers Distilling Company (IL)

Colin Keegan, Santa Fe Spirits (NM)*

Courtney McKee, Headframe Spirits* (MT)

Chris Montana, Du Nord Craft Spirits* (MN)

Dan Garrison, Garrison Brothers Distillery (TX)

Mark Shilling, Revolution Spirits (TX)

P.T. Wood, Wood’s High Mountain Distillery (CO)


Dan Farber, Osocalis Distillery (CA)

Jake Holshue, Rogue Spirits (OR)*

John Jeffery, Bently Heritage (NV)

Orlin Sorensen, Woodinville Whiskey Co. (WA)


Ex Officio – Matt Hofmann, Westland Distillery (WA)

Ex Officio – Steve Johnson, Vermont Spirits (VT)

Ex Officio – Paul Hletko, FEW Spirits (IL)

*newly-elected to the ACSA Board of Directors

ASCA would also like to thank the visionary founding Board Members who have completed their elected terms, including Paul Hlekto of Few Spirits, Thomas Mooney of House Spirits Distillery, Nicole Austin, formerly with Kings County Distillery, Steve Johnson of Vermont Spirits, who moves to an Ex Officio role, and Ted Huber of Starlight Distillery.

Board elections, which were supervised and certified by Robin McDougall of Lake George Distilling Company (NY) and Jeff Wuslich of Cardinal Spirits (IN), were held last month, with more than 60% of voting members casting ballots, while officers were chosen by the full board this week